Skip to Content

You’re Invited: E.C. Osondu’s Book Party on November 2

November 2, 2010

Bookmark and Share

Tuesday, November 2

7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

The Gallery Bar (120 Orchard Street, New York, NY)


EC.jpegE.C. Osondu’s story “Waiting”—picked out of the slush pile and published by Guernica in 2008—went on to win the 2009 Caine Prize, Africa’s leading literary prize.

This election night, please join Guernica in celebrating the launch of Osondu’s exhilarating debut collection, Voice of America, published by HarperCollins. In the tradition of Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, J.M. Coetzee, and Chinua Achebe (all patrons of the Caine Prize), Osondu’s stories are wise, soul-stirring, and deeply compelling. In electrifying prose, he articulates the struggles of Nigerian immigrants in America, and refugees, villagers, and expatriates in Africa. Voice of America marks the beginning for a brave and remarkable new voice in African literature.

The event is free. Books will be available for sale and signing.

Voice of America book cover.jpegMore about Voice of America:

“E.C. Osondu is a man with a clear head and a great ear, writing from crucial places.”—Jonathan Franzen, author of Freedom and The Corrections

“With observant wonder and subtle humor, [Osondu] portrays…our unique capacity for hope and hopelessness rolled together.”—Mary Gaitskill, author of Bad Behavior and Veronica

*Summary provided by HarperCollins

Readers like you make Guernica possible. Please show your support.

Tagged with:

You might also like

  • the_diversity_test_gender_liteThe Diversity Test Why were there only 8 women on the Modern Library’s 100 Best Novels of the Twentieth Century? Why is only 3% of the literature Americans read in translation?
  • <i>Guernica</i> Celebrates 6!Guernica Celebrates 6!  Join Guernica for an evening filled with food, drinks, music, readings, auctions, celebrities, honorees, and more fun than should be allowed at a benefit.
  • Abigail Sindzinski: The End of DreamsAbigail Sindzinski: The End of Dreams In his futuristic novel, On Such a Full Sea, Chang-rae Lee fears for our ability to conceive of a better tomorrow.
  • <i>Guernica</i> writer E.C. Osondu wins the ‘African Booker’Guernica writer E.C. Osondu wins the ‘African Booker’ E.C. Osondu's story in Guernica, Waiting, won the so-called African Booker—the Caine Prize for African Writing.

Leave a comment

Anti-Spam Quiz:

Subscribe without commenting