Founded online in 2004, Guernica is an award-winning 501(c)3 non-profit magazine focused on the intersection of arts and politics. Run entirely by a staff of volunteers, Guernica is also the grateful recipient of federal and private support. A home for incisive ideas and necessary questions, we publish memoir, reporting, interviews, commentary, poetry, fiction, and multimedia journalism exploring identity, conflict, culture, justice, science, and beyond.

With contributors from every continent and at every stage of their careers, we are proud to feature singular perspectives on the critical issues facing our world today. Guernica has published the work of acclaimed writers including Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Kamila Shamsie, J. Malcolm Garcia, Ariel Dorfman, Richard Price, Margo Jefferson, Alexandra Kleeman, Alexander Chee, Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o, Anna Badkhen, Alan Lightman, Lidia Yuknavitch, Chika Unigwe, Scott Cheshire, Peter Manseau, Ayana Mathis, Kiese Laymon, Catherine Lacey, Dinaw Mengestu, Ha Jin, Jesmyn Ward, and Laura van den Berg. Guernica guest editors have included Claire Messud, George Saunders, Roxane Gay, Francisco Goldman, Ben Marcus, Michelle Garcia, and Nick Flynn, among others.

We are always looking for new voices. Please visit our submissions page for information.